Colonial Health Care and Stillwater Health Care Receive National Quality Awards


Colonial Health Care in Lincoln and Stillwater Health Care in Bangor are recipients of the 2015 National Quality Award for performance excellence in long-term and post-acute care. The National Quality Award Program, presented by the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL), includes three distinct levels of performance excellence: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Stillwater Health Care is awarded the Silver – Achievement in Quality and Colonial Health Care is awarded the Bronze – Commitment to Quality. The competitive award program highlights select centers across the nation as models of excellence in their commitment to providing exceptional care to those they serve.
“We are all so proud of continued commitment of our nursing facility staff to the quality journey,” said Lisa Harvey-McPherson, RN, MBA, MPPM, EMHS vice president of Continuum of Care. “We believe that a continued emphasis on quality is our commitment to care and is essential to our strategic success. Their hard work and dedication to improving the lives of the residents we care for every day is representative in this national recognition. We are focused on the road ahead as we continue on this journey toward advancing performance excellence.”
Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. Centers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level and must receive an award at each level before proceeding to the next. As a recipient of the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award, Stillwater Health Care has demonstrated systematic advancements in quality, plans for continual improvement, and sustainable organizational goals. Stillwater may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award, which requires them to address the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence in its entirety.
“By successfully applying the rigorous standards of this program, Colonial Health Care and Stillwater Health Care have achieved a significant milestone on its quality journey,” said Christine Boldt, Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers. “I commend Colonial and Stillwater for this achievement.”
Awards will be presented during the AHCA/NCAL 66th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 4-7, 2015, in San Antonio, Texas.
Colonial Health Care and Stillwater Health Care are owned and operated by Rosscare, a member of EMHS, in partnership with First Atlantic Corporation. For more information about Rosscare’s facilities, please visit: www.rosscare.org/our-facilities.aspx
Annual Report

Explore our interactive report

Provider Finder

Find a healthcare provider near you.


Access your health records through our secure patient portal

EMHS Advocacy

Healthcare policy information

EMHS Beacon Health

The Difference in Care

EMHS Foundation

Help us help others